Happy Bento: Lemon Thyme-Mustard Roast Pork Tongue Sandwich with Fresh Tarragon

I was considerably amused to find out how some readers presume I make everything from scratch – Think my own homemade bolognese sauces, vinaigrettes or even noodles. I think I need to start growing rice in my hall gardens soon to prove these people right, haha! Occasionally I have oddly demented pleasures like making my own marshmallows without any special equipment but I assure you those days are rare. I really wish I could live like in the olden days and not rely on any pre-made ingredients. The biggest deterrent? Time, or the lack of it *sigh*. Now, if only my law textbooks could stop taking my attention away, these bad boys…

However, there’s one thing I try to make on my own most of the time. A sandwich! A good sandwich I’d pack for lunch when I have short breaks in between lessons with too little time for a proper meal at a cafe or restaurant. And let’s face it, meals in the UK are just too expensive for anyone who’s not willing to pay more than 5 pounds for a decent satiating lunch or dinner. Why not pack your own then? I take a lot of pride in making myself fast and nutritious meals at a fraction of the prices outside… Plus, I get to make much more interesting sandwiches that aren’t conventionally available. #tumtianhui and I are both fans of packing our own meals. Hence our new Happy Bento series will document our packed meals (of course, we try not to show you the boring ham and cheese too much)… We’re proud to kick off this series with Lemon Thyme-Mustard Roast Pork Tongue Sandwich with Fresh Tarragon!

Lemon Thyme-Mustard Roast Pork Tongue Sandwich with Fresh Tarragon 

Woke up at 7.30am to grill these babies. Am I mad or mad?

… In case you’re wondering why I’m eating the Pork Tongue this way, refer to our previous recipe: CHEAT! / Step-By-Step: Roast Pork Tongue in Lemon Thyme Mustard, with Fresh Tarragon http://wp.me/p2i4yg-j9

A typical packed lunch for me would include a sandwich with a meaty/cheesy filling, with a small cup of salad or sauteed/steamed vegetables, and a little sweet snack or dessert (especially the baked goods I make the day before but cannot finish). I try to vary my food every other day so it doesn’t get too boring. And for a healthy and delicious meal like this is probably less than a pound! The meal above costs an approximate 80pence. What a good deal this is – Good for your body and wallet! Stay tuned for more packed meal and Bento ideas! Arigato for all the support everyone :)

Posted by #phangchewfat

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

