We’re eating…Chicken in Rosemary Tomato-Cream Sauce

Easter holiday is finally here, and it’s time to travel! But before braving the sleep over at a train station and gypsy harassment (this is another story!), I had to clear the food, or what was left of it, in my fridge. There were chicken breast, half a cup of double cream, and some fresh rosemary. I wasn’t in the mood for a heavy cream sauce, so I went to my food stash to look for alternatives. Thankfully, I had a pack of chopped tomatoes lying around, and so I went for a tomato-cream sauce which isn’t as heavy as a plain cream sauce. (It’s very handy to have a pack/can of chopped tomatoes around at all times. They are incredibly versatile and good for situations like this!)

I started off by making a tomato base with the chopped tomatoes, some onions, garlic, fresh rosemary, as well as dried basil, marjoram and thyme to balance the flavour of the rosemary. The chicken went in next and I let it simmer in the company of the herbs and tomato for 20-30 mins. I ended up with a tomato sauce delectable on its own, with the flavour of the fresh rosemary shining through all the herbs, which complemented the juicy chicken, and the tomato base melded all these flavours together.

But, I’ve got to get rid of my double cream.

I actually struggled there for a bit, as to whether should I risk ruining this superb tomato sauce with the cream. It went in anyway (duh!! tomato-cream sauce is in the title!). The cream thickened the sauce and gave it a smooth texture without robbing any flavours from it. I had some plain fusilli pasta to go with it, and that was one good meal! 

Posted by #chubkaichun

Tagged

Leave a Reply

